A Certain Glow

Hanged Man

A friend remarked that he finds my blog a little on the darkside. ‘Good’, I say, life can be very dark at times and that’s my reality at the moment. Divining the Journey is an opportunity to shine a light into the shadows of those places that others fear to peep.

Passing a local tarot venue today, I noticed the reader sitting in the window. I knew him via an acquaintance so popped my head round the door. We had a chat, then he offered to read my palms. It was amazing that his words reflected an earlier conversation about creating emotional independence. Telling him about recent deaths and EDS, he said he was envious. I frowned. Qualifying his comment, he went on to say that I had been to places where others never would and that the experience was precious. A journey like no other.

At times, feeling like a leper with these emotions, it was pointed out to me that others fear this reflection of their possible journey and my openness about it. After the death of our sister and followed by Mum four days later, a woman said to my other sister (the one that’s alive of course.) ‘It is absolutely horrific, so horrific.’ This acknowledgement of her grief was the most honest thing anyone said to her back then.

With all this in mind when I got home I consulted my deck, ‘What will help me illuminate this darkness?’

Surprise, surprise. The Hanged Man flipped out. The shake up call. Life turned upside down shows us a very different view. His thoughts are well and truly lit up with his halo. Time must be taken to understand this new perspective in order to tackle the repetitive patterns (back to my Devil.) There’s no point struggling, remember to conserve that energy.

It is a helpless position in which to find oneself, strung up by a foot. It happened to me as a child when I slipped climbing a tree in an attempt to escape from the garden and play with the kids next door. My little red wellingtons caught on a branch and apparently I continued my conversation, without missing a beat, as comfortable as a roosting bat. Unfazed, I took it all in my stride. Where’s that innocent acceptance now. My red boots have turned into red tights.

Stop. Look again, What could you see differently in your life?

The Emperor also did a flip-out. ‘You are the one controlling your responses to this situation.’ I hear his fatherly voice say. As a card of Aries fire, he demands some structure in order to get things done. So whilst hanging around think about how to make those changes then implement them.

To wind up, my shuffling produced another acrobat card as the King of Cups somersaulted onto the table. I love him. He always makes me think of my Dad. Kind hearted, sensitive, deeply intuitive and very comfortable with emotions. Whenever he said, ‘I had a dream last night,’ we all sat up, saying, ‘Uh, oooh,’ as they were often prophetic, usually foretelling a death! See, it’s in the blood.

You can’t rush this illumination, but once the view becomes refocussed with the shifting of old belief systems I’ll climb out of that tree. The Emperor’s fire will light my way back to a stable place where the shining, golden cup of the King will pour forth emotional healing.

Not so dark now, is it?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Blog by Arcaya

Leave a comment